Pelé In a poll commissioned by the ‘History Channel’ in 2018, Edson Arantes do Nascimento, better known as Pelé, was voted the greatest footballer of all time, ahead of Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo. Pelé retired from professional football, at the age of 36, in October, 1977, but, in his heyday, achieved superstar status not only in his native Brazil, but around the world.

Born in the city of Três Corações, Minas Gerais, in the Southeast Region of Brazil on October 23, 1940, Pelé made his first team debut for São Paulo club Santos FC in 1956 and his first team debut for the Brazilian national team the following year. Indeed, his goal in the 2-1 defeat by Argentina at the Maracanã Stadium in Rio de Janeiro on July 7, 1957, made him the youngest ever scorer for Brazil, a record that he still holds.

In 1958, at the age of 17, Pelé became the youngest player to appear in a FIFA World Cup final, scoring twice in a 5-2 defeat of hosts Sweden. He would win the FIFA World Cup again in 1962 and, after suffering a torrid time in 1966, when Brazil failed to progress from the group stages, again in 1970, to become the only three-time winner in history. All told, ‘Pérola Negra’, or ‘Black Pearl’, as Pelé was sometime known, scored 77 goals in 92 official appearances for Brazil, including 12 in 14 games at the World Cup, and remains the all-time leading goalscorer for his country.

At club level, Pelé played for Santos FC for nineteen seasons, winning the Campeonato Paulista nine times and the Copa Libertadores de América and the Intercontinental Cup twice apiece. He retired from Brazilian club football in 1974, but joined New York Cosmos of the North American Soccer League, to no little fanfare, the following season.

Pele -Top 10 ‘Impossible Goals’

Read more about Pelé here

Anthony McCoy

Anthony McCoy Sir Anthony McCoy, who was knighted in the 2016 New Years Honours list for services to horse racing, was hailed by Racing Post journalist Alistair Down as the ‘riding phenomenon of all time’. On his retirement, in April, 2015, McCoy had ridden a total of 4,358 winners, including ten on the Flat, in Britain and Ireland and won the Jump Jockeys’ Championship in twenty consecutive seasons.

Born in Moneyglass, County Antrim on May 4, 1974, McCoy rode his first winner on British soil, Chickabiddy, trained by Gordon Edwards, at Exeter in September, 1994. Indeed, as conditional jockey to Gerard ‘Toby’ Balding, McCoy rode 74 winners in his debut season, just one short of the 75 required to ride out his claim, but more than enough to run away with the Conditional Jockeys’ Championship. In 1995/96, he won the Jump Jockeys’ Championship for the first time, making him the youngest winner since Josh Gifford in 1962/63; over the next two decades, would break every conceivable record in National Hunt racing.

In 1997, McCoy entered into an arrangement with reigning champion trainer, Martin Pipe, which allowed him to ride any of his horses at his discretion. That same year, McCoy completed the Champion Hurdle – Cheltenham Gold Cup double on Make A Stand, trained by Pipe, and Mr. Mulligan, trained by Noel Chance. In 2001/02, he rode 289 winners, beating the previous record for the most winners in a season by any jockey, Flat or National Hunt, set by Sir Gordon Richards in 1947. In 2004, McCoy became stable jockey to Jonjo O’Neill, in return for a lucrative retainer – reputedly worth £1 million a season – from leading owner John Patrick ‘J.P.’ McManus. The association famously produced a Grand National winner, Don’t Push It, in 2010, and another Cheltenham Gold Cup winner, Synchronised, in 2012.


The legendary AP McCoy

Read more about Tony McCoy here